Boston Bombings – Pray, And Then Do Something That Actually Helps

#prayforboston. Are you fucking kidding me? How about #donateblood, or #thanksparamedics or, #donatetopayvictimsmedicalbills.

I am disgusted by these attacks on US soil. I hope the perpetrators are found and brought to justice. I have enormous sympathy for the victims and their families. I hope the casualties have a speedy recovery, and that the doctors do all they can to ensure no one else dies from this horrific event.

If praying makes you feel better, I’m not going to take that away from you at a time like this. But as soon as you’re done praying, get up off your knees and do something REAL to help SOMEONE ELSE. God isn’t going to solve this problem, humans pulling together as humans are.

If all you do is pray, when you can afford to do more, you’re just selfish. You’re just satisfying your own desire to feel like you’ve done something to help.

Get up off your knees and donate blood, donate to a local hospital, donate to a cause to pay the victims medical bills. Take the 10% of your income you would give to the church this week and put it where it’ll help these innocent people.

Again, my thoughts and sympathies go out to everyone involved in this terrible incident.

People, help the people: http://www.weareatheism.com/donate/atheists-giving-aid-boston-marathon-tragedy/

Pray. Then DO SOMETHING THAT ACTUALLY WORKS.

Pray. Then DO SOMETHING THAT ACTUALLY WORKS.

I live in Australia. I write blogs about my thoughts on Atheism and Anti-religion

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Religion, Society
2 comments on “Boston Bombings – Pray, And Then Do Something That Actually Helps
  1. yanniesaurus says:

    Do you honestly think that is appropriate? I am an atheist, just as much as you are. But if people want to pray to something about the going downs in Boston, then who are we to judge? All I know is if I was a victim in those bombings, knowing that I am in someones thoughts – even if those thoughts are prayers – may be the push I need to recover.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

